Steering Box

I finished rebuilding the 16:1 ratio steering box with new bearings and seals. I painted it black and installed it with the 6 cylinder pitman arm, that way I can still steer the car while I’m getting the rest of the V8 steering linkages. Before assembly, I straightened the bent steering shaft by clamping it with vice-grips to prevent it from turning, and hammering it with a 3 lb sledge. I made sure to protect the ends of the shaft before doing so. This is not the best method, but it got the shaft straight enough that the steering wheel doesn’t wobble while it is being turned.
IMG_4252

Leave a Reply

