Removable Cowl

I have to fix three broken windshield wiper shaft bolts and clean/seal the cowl hats. I decided to try my idea of making a removable upper cowl panel. First, I used a jigsaw to cut the front of the cowl right above where the weatherstripping bolts on. Then I used a cut off wheel for the sides. On the window channel, I used the angle grinder to cut just in front of the spot welds holding the upper cowl to the lower cowl. I only cut through the first layer (upper cowl layer).
Now that I have the cowl off I’m going to do the bolt and rust repair, then make braces for the inside of the cowl and make brackets to bolt the upper cowl panel back on.
IMG_5528
IMG_5532
IMG_5533

Leave a Reply

